When an alternate work site address is used

 

As discussed in this section, H2OS has provision to store customer job site information in a separate table (the sites table) when customer records are deleted so this information is not lost and can be restored when the new owner orders service.

 

This topic describes a special case that can occur with job site records: customers who have alternate work site addresses. That is, the customer has a billing address that shows on the main screen, and also a work site address of a different location. The work site address is entered and updated using the CUST INFO page. To make this information prominent on the screen, alternate jobsite information, when it exists, is displayed on the main screen above the billing name and address (see screenshot below).  

 

What makes this situation special with respect to job site records is that normally the job site record will contain the customer's address and the job site info, but in the case of customers with alternate job site addresses, this isn't the case. Instead of the job site information describing the customer's address, it applies to the alternate address. Thus when a customer is deleted and the job site information is stored, it is stored from the deleted customer's alternate address fields and not the billing address fields. Moreover, the job site record created for a deleted customer will have it's alternate work site address set to blanks and billing address set to the work site address of the deleted customer record.  

 

In this case, this feature is minimally useful, as a new owner may have a different billing address (as did the last owner), perhaps because a rental property is involved. In this particular case, the newly entered customer record for the new owner would not be able to pickup the old customer's job site information because the new customer record contains the new customers billing address, not the job site address, thus a search for a newly added customer's address against addresses in the job site table will fail, even though the job site data is in the table, it's at a different address then is being entered with the new customer.

 

 

In this case, for the reason cited above (the possibility that the new owner will not be living at the job site address), we suggest not saving job site data for customers with alternate job sites. Either use the "Delete customer's job site info" option on the DEL+ screen when deleting customers with alternate job site addresses, or reply "no" when this situation is pointed out in a message produced when a customer with an alternate job site address is deleted.

 

The "Use this work site address" checkbox

Notice the "Use this work site address" checkbox above the job site address on the CUST INFO page. This box must be checked for the alternate address to be considered active. If the checkbox is  checked, job tickets will be prepared for the alternate work site address, otherwise for the customer's billing address will be used (so this is an important checkbox!). However,  regardless of the setting of this checkbox, the alternate work site address is displayed on the main screen for customers whom this information has been entered

 

 

This customer has a billing and an active alternate work site address. It's important to note that this address is active because the "use this work site address" is checked, otherwise anything entered into the site address is ignored. :

 

 

Figure 1: customer with an active alternate work site address

 

 

When a job is booked for this customer, a message like this will appear:

 

 

 

 

Reply YES and the alternate work site address is added to the job ticket.

 

 

 

Had the operator replied NO, the billing address is used:

 

 

 

 

 

When a customer with an alternate work site address is deleted

 

When a customer with an alternate job site address is deleted, special consideration must be given to job sites record that's automatically saved when customer records are deleted (in the event the new property owner becomes your customer, in which case the new customer's job site information can be restored for the new customer)

 

When a customer with an alternate work site addresses is deleted, the job site record created for this customer can reflect the customer's alternate job site address (not the billing address)

 

When the DEL+ command is used to delete a customer with an alternate work site location, a message will appear informing of this condition and to ask if a job site record should be created anyway for this customer record, even though the job site information in this customer's record  actually applies to the alternate job site address.  That is, the job site record created for the deleted customer will contain job site  information that applies to this customer which is probably not desirable - in which case you should reply NO to this message

 

 

 

Click YES and a job sites record is created for the alternate work site address, not the customer's billing address.

 

Click NO and a job sites record is not created for this customer.